Network management

The SCHN is the largest paediatric health care entity in Australia, formed in 2010 in accordance with the Health Services Act 1997 which brought together the following specialised children’s health services:

  • Sydney Children’s Hospital, Randwick, providing inpatient and outpatient care in the eastern suburbs of Sydney, with more than 1700 staff members, is one of Australia’s leading specialist medical centres for children, caring for seriously ill and injured children from across NSW.
  • The Children’s Hospital at Westmead, providing inpatient and outpatient care in the western suburbs of Sydney, with more than 3500 staff members. It is the largest paediatric centre in NSW and provides excellent care for children from NSW, Australia and across the Pacific Rim.
  • Bear Cottage, at Manly, which provides care for children with life-limiting conditions, is the only children’s hospice in NSW. Bear Cottage provides paediatric palliative care 24 hours a day.
  • Kids Research, located at both hospital sites, with 600 researchers, support staff and students, dedicated to discovering new ways to improve the health of children.  The team undertakes cutting-edge research into childhood diseases, resulting in significant advances in the treatment of cancer, obesity, kidney, heart and respiratory problems, diabetes, muscular dystrophy and other childhood conditions.
  • NETS (Newborn and paediatric Emergency Transport Service) is a statewide service, hosted by the Network with its base at Bankstown, providing 24-hour clinical advice, coordination, and emergency treatment and transportation to sick babies and children.
  • Children’s Court Clinic, located in Parramatta, undertakes independent clinical assessments to help magistrates and judges in NSW Children’s and District Courts make decisions in the best interest of children.