SCHN Quality and Innovation Awards

Sydney Children’s Hospitals Network (SCHN) staff have been acknowledged for their innovative projects aimed at improving health outcomes for children across NSW.

The SCHN Quality and Innovation Awards, held annually since 2013, recognise excellence in the delivery of health services. The focus is on innovation with real-life impacts, using sustainable approaches that can be taken up and adopted by other services.

This year the awards were held virtually, featuring a video message from NSW Premier Gladys Berejiklian commending staff on their work, and a key note address from former patient Sophie Delezio.

The Network took a greener approach to the awards this year – rather than prizes, a tree was planted on behalf of each award recipient.

The 12 category winners had a Blueberry Ash Tree planted on their behalf at Heffron Park, Maroubra and registered as part of the NSW Premier’s priority ‘Greening Our City’ . It is anticipated the trees will grow to 8 metres tall and 3 metres wide, providing a much needed shade canopy to children and families who visit the park. Randwick City Council kindly donated the trees and arranged for their plantation.

See the 2020 SCHN Quality and Innovation Award winners

Chief Executive's Award for Safety and Quality 

Southern Kids TLC (Transfer to Local Care)

Clinical Governance Award

Unlocking the potential of children with FASD

Partnering with Consumers Award 

Neurodevelopmental Care in the CICU

Preventing and Controlling Healthcare-Associated Infection Award

Improving safe medication delivery of topical wound anaesthetic 

Medication Safety Award 

Closed Loop Medication Management

Comprehensive Care Award 

COVID-19 Telehealth Response – shifting traditional care models. 

Communicating for Safety Award

Developmental Plus: Early Access & Early Intervention

Blood Management Award 

Sensible Blood Monitoring for Paediatric Oncology Patients

Recognising and Responding to Acute Deterioration Award 

EPIC: Educational Program for Interosseous-Cannulation in Children

Collaborative Staff Member of the Year Award 

Justine Wachman

Volunteer of the Year Award

Jessica Nikolovski and Betty Bemrose (joint winners)

Health Research and Innovation Award

A Childhood Cancer National Precision Medicine Program